Sunspot 1486

I took this image of the sun on 25th May at 5.47 am. I thought it rather unusual to get such a shot as the sun was well over the horizon. After some cropping and enlargement I discovered a spot which I automatically thought was a dust spot on my lens or sensor. One of my fellow photographer friends commented about the spot, so I sent the image to Astronomy Ireland and they have confirmed that the spot is indeed “sunspot 1486” Not a new discovery but unusual to say the least!!

Leave a Reply

